Squash

Today I played squash for the first time ever.

When I was a child, I asked my father to teach me to play squash.  He said I couldn’t play squash because of the risk of a ball hitting me in the face and ruining my chances of being crowned Miss South Africa.  Ha!  Turns out it wouldn’t be a facial injury that would end the beauty queen dream, but simple self respect!

I am happy to report that I managed to get through a whole game without being hit in the face even once.  On the negative side, my right arm is now so sore I can hardly manage to lift my wine glass to my mouth.  I may be forced to turn to left-handed drinking for a few days.

Leave a Reply

